top of page

Summer reads: New books & what to stream now

Updated: Sep 17, 2023

Summer is clocking along at full speed! If you are looking for some fun reads and new ideas of what to stream, check out my interview with award winning author Amanda Uhl and my top 3 picks to stream this month.


Read or listen: if you like paranormal romance, boy do I have the author for you. Her series Mind Hackers will help you escape to a new world of mind control. I loved the first book Mind Waves and just finished the second book, Cross Waves. This series would make a great mini-series to stream in the future. Available on audiobook, ebook and paperback.


What inspired you to write Crosswaves?

Cross Waves is the second book in the Mind Hackers series, which was largely inspired by my search for beach glass on the Lake Erie shoreline. One day while all alone gathering glass, I got a creepy feeling and wondered: Is someone watching me? Then I wondered, what if someone was watching a girl who routinely comes to a beach to look for glass…and what if they could read their mind and they fell in love with them…what would happen next? As I like to say, you have to read the book to find out. You first meet Geneva and Rolf in the first book and you may not like them all that much…until you learn their secrets and what is driving them.

Tell us a little about your author background?

I published my first book, MIND WAVES, in October 2016 and my second book, CHARMED BY CHARLIE in 2017. In October 2020, I released my third book CROSS WAVES and in that same year, completed a contemporary romance, SWEET STUFF, which won its category in the Stilleto contest. That book landed me a literary agent, but the book has yet to find a home. I’m now working on a fifth novel called Healing Kiss, a paranormal romance, which I just learned finaled in The Far Side contest for light paranormal romance. Winners will be announced at the end of August. What is your one tip to those who would love to write a book? Don’t give up! That’s the biggest tip I can give. Creativity takes courage. Have confidence and believe in yourself and keep working at it. You’ll get better and better the more you write.

What is one of your favorite newest summer reads?

Shipped by Angie Hockman. I may be biased as Angie and I are critique partners, but she did a fabulous job with this book, and if you love to travel, you’ll enjoy being whisked away to the Galápagos Islands! It’s a light-hearted and fun read. BLURB She can kill with a thought.

Gifted with an explosive psychic talent, Geneva Ericksen can’t risk letting Rolf Jorgensen in her life. If she does, she might accidentally kill him. But when Rolf’s sister goes missing, Geneva and her extraordinary abilities may be his only hope to find her. He’s hiding a deadly secret. Rolf’s not about to let Geneva slip away from him, even if it means protecting her from his dark gift. As Rolf and Geneva trail his sister, they soon uncover a life-threatening plot: someone is attempting to profit from stealing and trapping their power in crystals. To outsmart the enemy, it will take all their combined strength. But can they trust each other enough to survive?



My top 3 picks to stream:

staying in the paranormal fantasy vein, here's my top three picks to stream this month:

The Brass Teapot- free on Amazon. Thing Big or Mr. Destiny type movie with an ancient magical brass teapot.

The 100: This series takes a few episodes to get set-up, but stick with it.

Tenet- an action thriller that surprises. Awesome visual effects.

And, don't forget to check out my new release Pseudocide: Sometimes you have to die to survive free on Kindle unlimited A twisty beach read about a young woman faking her death. Also, click here to enter for a free chance to win a $225 Amazon Gift card, just for following me on social media! https://geni.us/giveawayaksmith

19 views0 comments

Book reviews. Travel reviews. Film reviews

transparent.png
bottom of page